Thank You Ink Creative Spotlight: Brittany Weckert, Words She Wrote

“Creative is such a funny word. I’ve never really understood what it meant – and I ALWAYS assumed I didn’t have a creative bone in my body because I was terrible in art classes at school. In fact, I still am. I draw stick figure humans.” -Brittany Weckert

File_003On some level, don’t we all feel that way? Growing up, my younger sister was (and still is) the “artist” of the family. But since she is so talented, I thought I could never claim “creative” as a characteristic of mine.

Obviously, that is so untrue!

I had the privilege of interviewing Brittany from Words She Wrote, and she goes on to say, “everyone IS creative in some way. It can be shown through the way you dress, or style your hair, or through photography. But for me, creativity is putting marker to paper and seeing what I can come up with.”

Personally, I think it is a crime to ignore your God-given creativity.

File_001 (4)
True Chainz (something my fiancé and I say a lot…)

And speaking of crime…Brittany is “obsessed with crime documentaries!!” She thinks this fact is “a bit creepy” but she is in good company here.

Not that we are all creepy, just that I too love crime television.

ANYWAY…

For me, one of the most important things in my own creative process is setting goals and continuing to grow. Whether that is perfecting old work or trying out new mediums, it is freeing to work toward a goal, and fulfilling when I reach that goal.

I was encouraged by Brittany’s boldness when I asked about her goals: she said, “I would LOVE to be able…to letter graphics for magazines, or brands for their online content/EDMs.”

Of course, this boldness did not come from nowhere! We all have people who inspire us.

“My mum is a big inspiration for my trying to be creative, she has always been a very creative person through mosaic projects, quilting and gardening,” Brittany said. “Within the lettering field in particular, and the reason I am now doing what I do – is because of Tania DeBono of ‘The Writing’. She gave me a whole new meaning to the word creative – I had always loved using markers but never considered it to be creative at all.”

And whenever people are inspired to create, their natural next step is communication. When you are using art to communicate, you are exposing your heart, which can be a beautiful display.

File_002 (1)When I asked what Brittany wants to communicate with her art, she said, “Mainly just positivity where possible. I am unfortunately the first person to take on other people’s issues, take things personally or get down in the dumps after a bad day. But I love that I can go home and pick up a marker and scribble a few positive quotes, as it can change my mood instantly – and hopefully someone else who I reach through social media too.”

…SAME.

We can all get lost in the questions of what our purpose is and what that means for our lives–wait, just me? 😉 We are creative beings, created to create and share our creativity (hehe).

Like I said in my last blog, we have access to the Internet. We have a unique opportunity to inspire others, just as others inspire you.

Thank you, Britt, for sharing your heart with us! Here are some links to more of her artwork (she is extremely talented). Words She Wrote is based out of Strathalbyn, South Australia.File_000 (2)

Links

Web: www.wordshewrote.com.au/

Email: brittany@wordshewrote.com.au

Instagram/Facebook: wordshewrote

And MY LINKS ALSO! Because yes(:

IMG_1860

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/thankyouink/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/thankyouinkdesign/

Email: madebylindseydesign@gmail.com

Thanks for being the best (and LOL at my face).

Author: Thank You Ink

I enjoy funny things. I write and design stationery and a variety of products.

Leave a comment