Thank You Ink Creator Spotlight: Tay on the Move

So I’m starting this thing where I interview creative people and blog about it.

GENIUS, RIGHT?!

Reading stories about what motivates people to pursue their passion moves me. They inspire my own creativity, which is why I document these interviews. People are made to live in community, to connect with others around us. And what a perfect time to do just that…I mean, we have access to the Internet. 😉

I recently interviewed artist/interior designer/traveller (and rock star, am I right?!) Syeda Tayyeba (Tay) from Tay On The Move about her passion and how her travels and creative process has influenced her life.

Random fact: “I love looking at and buying kitchen appliances!”

She said, “Being creative has been a fun outlet for me. When I was little, I was always drawing, coloring or painting just for fun. In my adult life, it’s something I do to relax and to escape the responsibilities of adulthood for a little while.”

Amen, I am all about escaping adulthood for a bit every now and then.

Not only does Tay escape figuratively using art, she also literally travels the world to experience different cultures and gain new perspective (I feel like I need to get her autograph, haha). “In terms of travel,” she said, “I think that just runs in my blood. My father is a Muslim Missionary so I have moved around most of my life. I was born in Sierra Leone, Africa, after which I lived in Pakistan and then finally, the United States. And even within the US, I’ve lived in Texas, Maryland, California and Illinois.”

WOW. So many places, I love it.

HIKING TAY
Tay hiking at the Indiana Dunes National Park (take me there now please!)

Inspiration can come from so many different people, experiences, etc. When I asked Tay what/who her inspiration was, she said, “I think my creativity comes from my mom. When I was little, I used to watch her sew and knit. She enjoyed those things a lot and always encouraged me to get into such things as well.”

The cool thing about art is it allows a response, and because that is true, it is safe to say that art communicates. When I asked Tay what she wants to communicate through her art and travels, she said, “I try to keep my artwork clean and simple (as you can see with

HAPPINESS TAY
Check out Tay’s Etsy shop (link below).

the designs in my shop); therefore, I want to show people that you can find beauty in the simple things. I think often times people think they need to learn how to draw or paint to be considered an artist. I used to think that too. But honestly, it’s more than that and that’s what I want to communicate.”

I always leave these interviews feeling so inspired and encouraged! Thank you, Tay, for allowing us to know you better! You are truly talented and I cannot wait to see the great things you will get to be a part of.

Here are some links to Tay’s work and travels (check out her tea party she just did-WOW):

Website: www.tayonthemove.com/

Tea Party: http://tayonthemove.com/index.php/2017/02/27/diy-tea-party/

Etsy: www.etsy.com/shop/tayonthemove

And here are my Made By Lindsey Links:

File_007
Made By Lindsey Design Co. greeting cards.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/thankyouink/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/thankyouinkdesign/

Email: madebylindseydesign@gmail.com

Thanks for being the best.

Author: Thank You Ink

I enjoy funny things. I write and design stationery and a variety of products.

Leave a comment